Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Create your own memory box

I am quite a sentimental person. I like to keep mementos that hold some personal meaning or positive memory. Many of these items are in a memory box that I keep under my bed. Some of the objects are seemingly very random: confetti from a concert, a $1 bill from my first trip to America, train tickets, a pebble. Yet these items speak louder than words. I have another memory box for cards and notes from friends. The art of letter writing hasn’t been lost with a couple of my friends, and it’s a lovely thing when you receive a handwritten card.

For me, these objects are a powerful reminder that life can be a wonderful thing. Every now and then, it is good to reflect upon one’s own personal journey. Many of us can get caught up in the day-to-day stresses of our lives and ponder the meaning of life. I’m guilty of existentialism, and frequently marvel at the world. How do flowers know it’s their time to bloom? How can human beings develop from a tiny amalgamation of cells, into living and breathing creatures? Let’s not forget other world wonders: Stonehenge, the Pyramids, scientific discoveries, surgical breakthroughs, aeroplanes. I am most blown away by beautiful architecture that was constructed centuries ago. The Sistine Chapel and Westminster Abbey date back to the c14 and c12, respectively. I mean, how on earth did churches get built. Nowadays, many of us can only just about manage putting together an Ikea flatpack table. I’m not sure if human evolution has progressed or regressed in that sense.

My point? We all need to be grounded every now and then. Humans are social creatures, and loneliness can be all-consuming. We are also guilty of getting swept away by the culture of modern day life.

Bearing all of this in mind, I thought it would be a nice idea to have a 21st century memory box. This is where you guys come in.

The plan: create a folder on your computer that holds all of your favourite photographs.

I have started this already, and have chosen photos that remind me of past holidays, friends, and places that have provided me with moments of clarity and calm. I reckon you could also add documents, videos or songs which hold a particularly important meaning.

Then, whenever you feel stressed, sad or alone, you can look at these mementos and remember that there is goodness in the world – even when it feels like there’s nothing but darkness.

You’ve had memories in the past; you will make memories in the future.

